My friend, the freezer…

I recently started a job that has me working through dinnertime, or, at the earliest, through dinner-prep time. As a result, I’ve been doing a lot of make-ahead meals.
A couple weeks ago, I did a riff on a veggie lasagne, that went into the freezer to wait for a night that required a healthy meal with zero prep. You can use whatever vegetables you have for something like this. The most important part is the way the items are sliced. Long, thin slices of eggplant and zucchini, strips of bell pepper, sliced onions, grated tomatoes and handfuls of “cheese” were interspersed with sheets of collard greens and seasoned liberally. Extra Daiya shreds went on top, along with a combination of breadcrumbs and ground flaxseed for a bit of a crunch.


When I got off work at 6pm and arrived home yesterday, I popped this in a 350-degree oven, straight from the freezer and let it bake for 30 minutes, covered and 5 minutes under the broiler, uncovered. Next to a handful of salad greens, I was set for dinner!
…The next time I make this, I may add a layer of lentils…just a thought.

Today is my day off, so, I’m going to make some soup for even faster no-prep dinners. The first is Pumpkin.
With Trader Joe’s inexpensive cans of organic pumpkin, I can make nutrient-dense meals in no time. Today’s preparation will start with a large, diced shallot, two diced ribs of celery and, of course one can of pumpkin. I’ll heat up my cast iron pan with a few cloves of garlic in it, so they can get soft, sweet and roasty. The shallot and celery will get sauteed in a Tablespoon of olive oil, until they begin to soften. Next, a half cup of cooked cannellini beans gets added to the mix, along with a tablespoon of dry, powdered sage. Next comes the pumpkin and the liquids, namely 1 cup of vegetable stock and 2 cups water. I’ll season with a generous pinch of salt and some freshly ground pepper. As the ingredients come together, I’ll check the garlic and see if it’s begun to brown and soften. When the garlic is soft, I’ll add it to the mix and blend the whole thing together. This will get split in half; half for the fridge, half for the freezer, so I can have some tomorrow, and then again for some future dinner.

Soup for the fridge (L) and the freezer (R)

When I get home tomorrow, I’ll toast some diced pecans and sizzle up some fresh sage leaves in some “butter” to put on top of my autumnal treat. YUM.

I think I’ll make a curried kale soup, too… but you’ll have to wait for Friday to see that one!
In the meantime, how do you make worknight meals possible? Leave a comment below.
Have a Delicious Day!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Dinners, Leftovers, Vegan, Vegetarian, YUM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My friend, the freezer…

  1. Joseph Caccavo says:

    Sounds d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s!!!

Leave a Reply

