Let me entertain you…

The last half of January kinda threw me off kilter. A lot of things were changing for the better and for worse. When faced with these kinds of things, taking care of oneself is extraordinarily important. Of course, I’ve been eating as well as I can and getting in a few good workouts; but there’s one other element in self care that’s just as necessary: Social Connections.

I had the pleasure of welcoming some friends from college over for lunch one day. We snacked on fruits and veggies from the Farmer’s Market and sandwiches, also market fresh.


Baby Deep Purple Carrots and Baby Daikon Radishes


My Sandwich; 11-Grain Bread from Bezian Bakery, A schmear of Avocado Aioli, Prosciutto, Tomatoes and Ruby Streak.

Along with the company of two friends I haven’t seen in a long time, I had the pleasure of meeting the Significant Man in my friend, Renee’s life. Joseph Conrad, chef and entrepreneur, came bearing gifts…food gifts! His contribution to my kitchen? Samples of his own artisanal sea salts, Secret Stash Sea Salts! He’d brought the Smoked Chipotle, Chorizo and Bloody Mary Sea Salts, all of which are delicious! I’ve seen some more on the website that have also peaked my curiosity…check them out!

Later that night, I made a healthy dinner for The Boyfriend and myself. The season’s hearty root veggies took the stage in the form of a crispy, colorful salad that continued to get better as it marinated in the fridge.


The following week, we had the pleasure of hosting The Boyfriend’s Sister and Brother-in-Law, as they passed through town on a world cruise. I put out a spread of appetizers for everyone to nosh on while we all caught up.


There were cheeses, crackers, smoked salmon, strawberries (from the Farmer’s Market) and the omnipresent vase of tangerines. Toasted walnuts and Ruby Streak rounded out the spread.

That night was the start of yet another trend, one I’m not quite as proud of, but just as excited about; but, more on that later. The next night, I hopped right back on track.


Dill-marinated trout with walnutty wild rice and grilled Farmer’s Market Asparagus.

And the next morning…


Those Strawberries came in handy for my oatmeal the next morning when they got together with some blueberries, toasted walnuts and a drizzle of Fig Balsamic Vinegar from Pastamoré Gourmet Foods, a tasty find from the West LA Sunday Farmer’s Market. Sooo good!

During this time of good eating, I hit a few speed bumps. Either I’d have to work all weekend, so I didn’t have time to shop or cook or the cupboards were simply bare; so, we ended up eating lots of food made by other people. We visited a new food truck, I went out to my new favorite bar (a couple times!), we went to a new local sushi spot…we even left town! Stay tuned to see where we went and what we ate!

Now, I’m off to the Culver City Tuesday Farmer’s Market!


 

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Cool People, Dinners, Fish and Seafood, Leftovers, Raw, Snacks, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let me entertain you…

  1. Stephanie says:

    we’ve missed you in the blogosphere! glad you’re back. i need to stop in to the store soon…i wonder what the surprise is!

Leave a Reply

