An unexpected treat

I had some plans yesterday that fell through, so where do you think I ended up?  Of course, the Market.  The Santa Monica Wednesday Market to be precise.  This is one of the largest local Farmer’s Markets and features countless organic producers.  It’s been my favorite for years.

The Haul

The Haul, 1/19/11 

3 Bunches Asparagus: $6

1 2.5 lb. Bag Tangerines: $3

Multi-Color Carrots:  $2.35

1 Dozen Eggs: $2.50

1 Bag Ruby Streak Greens: $1.90

Total: $15.75!

As soon as I got home, I got peckish.  Soon after I took these pictures, I made this lunch:

Crispy salmon, apple and Ruby streak sandwich

On top of some seriously whole grain Rye bread, I spread some spicy brown Mustard and topped that with a few wafer-thin Apple slices.  In a pan, I had crisped up some Smoked Sockeye.  I placed this atop the apples while they were still hot. 

To crown this open-faced masterpiece, I placed a heap of Ruby Streak, sprinkled her with salt, pepper, a hint of olive oil and a kiss of lemon…almost too beautiful to eat.  Almost.

Ruby Streak has got to be one of the most beautiful greens out there.  The lacy leaves and varying colors are so stunning!  They’re a member of the mustard family and sport the characteristics of that group.  They’re slightly peppery and have a warm, mustardy roundness.

Dinner

For dinner, I wanted to continue the high-nutrient-high-flavor theme, so I sauteed some of the Ruby Streak with some Arugula we had around.  I also had some leftover vegetables from a soup I’d started to make.  They were once carrots, onions, celery, fennel and potatoes.  They had since become a beige mash, studded with …I think those are carrots?

The first container of this less than attractive mass became the base for a chicken soup for The Boyfriend.  Here, I got a little schmancy and formed three little cannelles for each plate.  I made a highly flavored combination of lentils, Purple Haze Carrots, celery and shallots.  That was my protein for the evening; My Honey had chicken.  Unfortunately, he’d already started eating by the time I finally got a good shot of my plate…

tangerines

After dinner, I decided to reinstate our Holiday Season remedy for TV-time hunger: the Vase o’ Fruit.  These tangerines were a bit harder to peel than the ones we had before, but that’s fine, it slows us down a bit!

I’m excited to play with all these veggies.  I’m in the midst of four days off, so I’ll really get creative…I have time!

Stay tuned for what happens with those Aspara-guys and we’ll see if I can come up with something new to do with eggs…  Ooh, I think I’ve already answered myself!

And if you still haven’t checked it out, my newsletter, Wholly Delicious!! has gone live!  Get on board before next month where I’ll be passing on a new Recipe Makeover, offering a recipe that’s really good for your heart and helping you through the ‘Winter Doldrums’.  Join here!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Dinners, Fish and Seafood, Leftovers, Lunches, Market Haul, Snacks, YUM. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An unexpected treat

  1. Stephanie says:

    I love the Wednesday market!! Looks like you cleaned up. Let me know what you do with your haul…I need some inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

