Lovin’ the Leftovers…

Welcome to that special time of year when reruns are welcome and last week’s news can be a headliner: The Post-Thanksgiving Season!!


Aah, Thanksgiving dinner…We had it three times…well, I did. The Boyfriend had it 4 nights in a row. Somehow, it was still delicious, but still a REALLY HEAVY MEAL. So, yesterday, I began toying with the ample contents of the fridge.


My Honey Bear was suddenly struck with a craving; a curry craving. His idea of “curry” tends to be different from mine. I like to keep it interesting with different spices, found in my own cupboard. He’s more of the “find a jar of something that looks like the right color” type. So, in the interest of compromise, I helped him pick out a jarred sauce that only had recognizable ingredients. Spicy Nothings Classic Curry Simmer sauce was lower in fat, sodium and sugar than the others we found and was also vegan and gluten free. Though the jar was labeled “medium,” it wasn’t quite spicy enough for our asbestos palates, so I doctored it up with some red pepper flake and part of a fresh Serrano chili. Here you see it served over a puck of brown and wild rice and garnished with cilantro.


This morning, I scooped out more of that brown/wild rice, topped it with a handful of leftover salad and a cut-up Mexicola Avocado (you can eat the skin!!) from the Farmer’s Market. Finished with a poached egg and a quick seasoning, I was ready for my day.

Tonight, we’ll be having turkey tacos. The turkey and roasted veggie soups are impending…they may have to stop off in the freezer before appearing here, so stay tuned!! There’s more of everything to come!

P.S. Today, my lunch was stuffing with gravy. That’s it, nothing else. It. Was. BEAUTIFUL.

But what should I do with the rest of that stuffing? Any ideas?

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Dinners, Leftovers, Lunches, Poultry, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lovin’ the Leftovers…

  1. uclalamb says:

    Can’t wait to see your farmer’s market bounty from this week, but for now a suggestion:

    Perhaps stuff some mushrooms with the remaining stuffing? It sounds good in theory…let me know if you try it!

    • OrganiCat says:

      Well, the rest of the stuffing went down my gullet with the last of the gravy!! Yes, that’s my favorite part of the holiday! :-I (that’s me w/my mouth full of stuffing)

      I’ll be going to the Wednesday Santa Monica FM tomorrow. I’m going to a dinner party and have to bring a vegetarian-friendly dish…I think I’ll be visiting that mushroom stand again, and who knows what’ll happen!?

      Thanks for watching!
      C@

Leave a Reply

