What to do when the Chanterelles dry up…

I’m very frugal. When I buy something I love, I want it to last forever…unfortunately, that’s not what happens. Eggplants go soft and mushy, cucumbers get slimy and greens turn yellow when I’m not paying attention. Mushrooms, however, when stored properly, can transform into a completely new medium!


This dinner was the result of having lots of little crimini mushrooms that were poorly stored and about to get gross. The proper way to keep mushrooms fresh is to store them, refrigerated, in a paper bag. When these ‘fun-guys’ are kept in plastic containers, their high water content creates lots of condensation, leaving them waterlogged, slimy and they can go off quickly.

Here, I used the last of David’s Chanterelles from last week, which had dried quite nicely in their paper bag. I had a few other dried mushrooms in the pantry and I reconstituted all of them in some warm veggie stock (creating another amazing stock) and sautéed them with the criminis, leeks, garlic and pecans.

I processed this aromatic combination until it was smooth, with the texture of the nuts still popping through. I took some gyoza wrappers and filled each with the mixture, using a melon baller. I stored the finished raviolis in the freezer, and pulled them out last night.

I made a pesto of spinach, sage, garlic, pumpkin seeds, sherry vinegar and olive oil. A couple handfuls of Green Beans (from this week’s haul) got pan-roasted with some kalamata olives. I tossed all these elements together, and had a flavorful meal I cannot wait to recreate!

Speaking of this week’s haul, let’s see it!

West L.A. Market Nov. 7

So, this past Sunday, I did something amazing. I convinced the Boyfriend to come to the market with me…And he had a blast!


The Haul:

Strawberries: $5

Kale and Fennel: $3

Eggs: $4

Tomatoes, Beets and Green Beans: $3

Lemons: $1

Total: $16!

A confession: I didn’t pick out the strawberries, he did. I spent $5 on more tempeh…yes, again…But it was amazing in a sandwich made with the bread he also bought. That shot is coming soon, but in the mean time; tell me how you would use these mildly common ingredients.

How would you prepare the Kale?

What would you do with the Beets?

How would you incorporate the Strawberries in an Autumnal menu?    

Leave a comment and join the conversation!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Dinners, Market Haul, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do when the Chanterelles dry up…

  1. Stephanie says:

    Hey! I was the girl who talked your ear off about how my husband and I can never limit ourselves to just $20 at the Farmer’s Market. Can’t wait to read more posts — do you have any tips for novice shoppers who want to buy up everything in sight?

    • OrganiCat says:

      Hiya Stephanie!
      I always have this problem!! The only way I can TRULY limit myself to $20, is to only bring $20. I also have a system for shopping; I walk the entire market, keeping track of the things I can’t get anywhere else. If there are things I want that don’t fit in the $20 frame, I ask the vendors how long they’ll be available. This may mean getting eggs at Trader Joe’s this time in order to get that elusive item, but other times I have to just shop for shopping’s sake. Once or twice a month, I may bring $40 or $60 and really stock up…that tends to be when I’ll spend a couple days making soups or other freezable fare. It’s ALWAYS worth it.

      Thanks for watching!
      C@

Leave a Reply

