A side trip…

This past weekend, with lots of Farmer’s Market produce still loaded in my fridge, I did something a little different with my Saturday.


I attended Artisanal LA, a festival of locally produced food and food-related education. At this event, I was wooed by dips, spreads, sauces, libations, brittles, cupcakes, caviar, pies and CSA’s; a tasty way to spend the weekend!

Again, I vowed to only bring $20 for anything I might want to pick up, but there were other expenses I had to consider. Here’s the breakdown:

Admission: $15 ($10 if I’d known earlier and had registered online)

Parking in the Cooper Building Garage: $10 (I found a lot 2 blocks away for only $6)

Stuff for me: $20!

What I spent:

$37!!

On what, you ask?

Well, you know I had to put my car somewhere, and I couldn’t teleport to the 11th floor of the Cooper Building ($21 down, just $16 to go!)


The SoNo Trading Company‘s delicious Mostly Organic Mustards ($6 each), and David’s Unforgettable Spicy Balsamic Barbecue Sauce ($4 each) are yummy, responsible solutions to one of my pet peeves; sugar-salt-and-preservative-filled condiments!!

So far, I’ve used the mustards as dips and spreads. Last night, I made Panko-crusted Calamari and pan-roasted, brightly colored Cauliflower florets with a spicy dipping sauce featuring the Hong Kong Habañero mustard.




This mustard is WAY too spicy to eat in the quantity I would for dipping, so I combined it with 1/4c. soy yogurt, 1 Tbsp. mayonnaise, the juice of ½ lemon, a couple splashes of rice vinegar and a pinch of kosher salt. I used about 1Tbsp. of the mustard to keep it spicy, but not too spicy for the whole meal, which was paired with a refreshing Albariño (for me) and a Stella Artois (for him).

Lunch today was similar to the previously shown open-faced veggie sandwiches. The bread was spread with the Rosemary-Sage-Thyme (my favorite herbs!) Mustard and topped with more grilled eggplant and zucchini…yes, we’re still working on those…

Though I bought just two of the items that spoke to me, there are far more I wanted to get! Check out these other vendors I really loved, and will continue to follow:

Greenbar Collective – The world’s largest collection of artisan, organic spirits!

Petrossian Paris – Exquisite food and gifts; can we say caviar!?

The Olive Press – Award-winning Olive Oil; naturally flavored bliss J

All Jarred Up – Amazing desserts in a jar!

Farmscape – Organic, edible gardens installed for you!

Gotta Have S’more – S’more’s as muffins? Gimme!

Rawk-n-Roll Cuisine – Delicious, raw vegan organic snacks J

Ococoa – Beautifully crafted chocolate cups…drool…

Akasha (also my favorite restaurant) – Jams, jellies and dips to live for!

Stay tuned to see how these items continue to spice up all the leftover produce I’ve found at the Farmer’s Market!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Cool People, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

