Autumnal Baking and Other Treats

Leftovers ROCK. With the leftover eggplant, zucchini and bell peppers, I was able to create a couple tasty pizza meals; check out this His n Hers Pizza…


Both sides of this pie are topped with bell peppers, onions and zucchini. His side (the closest) also has sausage and a combination of his favorite shredded cheeses. My side has the last of the eggplant and is topped with (something I’m rarely fond of) one of the few non-dairy cheeses I can actually enjoy!

This dinner was made with Trader Joe’s Wheat Pizza Dough. It smelled sooo good as it rose and browned, I decided to continue the baked-goods trend in my kitchen…


I baked this gorgeous loaf from Jim Lahey’s “No-Knead Bread” recipe. Okay, I know this didn’t come from the Farmer’s Market, but I just had to post this!! Besides, it led to yet another delicious leftover-laced lunch…


Grilled zucchini and eggplant were delicious atop slices of that crusty loaf, adorned with a very thin slice of that “fauxmage.”

That loaf went fast! The last meal I made with it was a breakfast loaded with autumnal fruits.


No, I didn’t eat the egg in the same bite; too much of a battle betwixt sweet and savory. The fruit came from this week’s haul (apples and jujubes), a donation from my boyfriend’s co-worker (persimmon) and our regular grocery store visit (plum). I cooked them all together in Earth Balance Non-Dairy Spread and olive oil. I added some lemon zest, Chinese 5-Spice and finished it with a squeeze of lemon juice. I paired it with a big mug of Market Spice Tea. The house was perfumed for hours with the scent of this fruit/spice combination….mmmm, Autumn.

There’s still lots of fruit in the basket, mushrooms in the fridge and a butternut squash (from TJ’s) waiting to happen. Stay tuned for more meals from my favorite season…it only gets better from here!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfasts, Leftovers, Lunches. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autumnal Baking and Other Treats

  1. OrganiCat says:

    Thanks!! I’m starting another one today 🙂

  2. david says:

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

