Mmmm…Eggplant…

Sometimes, a simple solution is the best. Grilled Eggplant is an easily recognizable item. So, when my boyfriend sees it, he expects something he doesn’t necessarily like. But, when I brought this eggplant home, I sliced a couple of them into ¼ inch rounds and placed them in my homemade vinaigrette. I stored them in the fridge and forgot about them…until last night!


Sautéed Swiss Chard, spiked with White Beans serves as a platform for this vegetable feast. A week in a tasty marinade was all it took for this Eggplant to become an attractive member of this meal, for my boyfriend. Sure, it takes a long time, but all I had to do was get it started, the vinaigrette did the rest!

Those sliced Black Brandywine Tomatoes are from my Wednesday haul, so let’s get to it…

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Wednesday, Santa Monica 10.20.10

This week was mostly grey and drizzly. LOVED it. Unfortunately, it also included a bit of a sick day for me. So, when my hands-down-absolute-favorite-Farmer’s-Market rolled around, I had to go, even if it was for just a little while.


The Haul

4 Heavy Heirloom Tomatoes: $8.25

Chanterelle Mushrooms: $3 (Thanks David!)

5 Pink Lady Apples: $3.50

About 16 Jujube’s: $3.75

$19!

I’ll be snacking on the apples and jujubes and the rest will get massaged into the next week’s menus. We still have quite a bit of produce left from the previous Market Run, so you’ll be seeing many of last week’s items again…but how? Stay tuned to find out!


 

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Dinners, Market Haul, Uncategorized, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mmmm…Eggplant…

Leave a Reply

