Eggplant, figs and squash in cognito…

We really like our snacks in this household. A chip, a dip or something slathered on toast can quickly turn into a meal for us! My honey loves his chips and salsa, while I’m more of a tapenade/bruschetta babe. But, when his nose leads him to the kitchen with a smile on his face, I know he’ll enjoy whatever is being conjured.

Here’s the first example of a dish that trumped his eggplant prejudice!


Slowly baked with stock and red wine, the eggplant, figs, shallots and rosemary, this sweet/savory chutney made a delicious topping for the 10-grain bread I’d baked that day. I still have some eggplant left, and will incorporate it with the leftovers from the last haul for a reprise of my party dish that created two new eggplant fans!

My boyfriend doesn’t get much in the line of red meat living with me, so when I find a deal on some good stuff (bison, grass-fed beef, etc…), I like to make it really special. We had some sirloin left after I made him a beef version of those Korean Tacos, and I had a surplus of carrots I wanted to use before they went all dry and tasteless; so I made some beef stew and hid some lovely yellow veggies in there, which he actually enjoyed!


Can you see the squash? I don’t think so!!!

While my Honey tucked into his stew, I enjoyed an impromptu combination of veggies and beans that, though I already love all the elements, I wasn’t sure how it would turn out…all I can say is OMG.


Swiss Chard, white beans, shredded carrots, squash and lemon zest were all I needed to make something I was not only quite proud of, but will definitely make again.

I usually have an egg with my grains in the morning, but sometimes I want something a little sweeter. This next dish is a yummy combo of Buckwheat, Millet, Figs, Soy Yogurt and a sprinkle of Cinnamon.


This turned out to be a warming, sweet start to that cool, drizzly day. YUM.

Stay tuned for more eggplant and a new haul from the Santa Monica Wednesday Market!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Dinners, Red Meat, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eggplant, figs and squash in cognito…

  1. vickie paquette says:

    Loving this Cat! Especially the eggplant fig combo. Looking forward to more next week.

Leave a Reply

