The Extras Take the Stage

The items that leapt to the forefront of my menus were, of course, the ones that cost me that extra $12!


Korean Tofu Tacos

Each week the boyfriend and I like to have a Taco Night. He may be Irish, but he LOVES his Mexican fare! I usually make our tacos with fish or he’ll get chicken or beef while I’ll have shrimp or tofu. A couple weeks ago, we took one of our evening walks to Sawtelle Blvd.,the home of many of our new favorite eateries, for our newest favorite culinary outing; food truck night!

On this stroll, while he had his usual Korean Beef Taquitos from Krazy BBQ, I had two tofu tacos (say that 5 times fast!) from BOOLBBQ. Umm…YUM! I had to replicate it, and add my own twist.

For this meal, I combined the lovely silken-but-firm Mori-Nu Tofu with the addictively delicious Tempha from the market. After marinating them in a combination of the liquid off the Kim Chee, rice vinegar, red pepper flakes and a little soy sauce, I sautéed them with some jalapeños and cilantro to create a delicious filling for a pan-warmed tortilla. A squeeze of lime brought the whole thing together…SO YUM!


Buccatini with Kim Chee and a Fried Egg

I would usually make this combination with rice noodles, but we had exactly one serving of this fantabulous pasta left and I had to make it special!

This has to be one of the simplest preparations, oh, but it was sooo good! This Kim Chee is a fermented Napa Cabbage treat. It’s high in probiotics, (good gut bacteria), fiber, calcium, iron and vitamins A, C, B1 and B2.

The egg was one from this week’s market haul, and considering the recent salmonella scare, I’ve begun to purchase all my eggs from someone who can tell me the names of the chickens that laid them, or are at least locally produced. It may be a little neurotic, but I have to say, all the eggs I’ve gotten outside of the grocery store are soooo much more delicious! The free-range chickens that forage on their own are also much higher in Omega-3 fats, as are their eggs; even if they’re not fed flaxseed!

Enjoy!!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Dinners, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Extras Take the Stage

  1. Janet says:

    Yummy! The Korean BBQ truck is my guilty pleasure, but making them at home seems like a great alternative.

    Now, to convince the hubby he’ll like kim-chee…

  2. organicat says:

    Sean didn’t really look convinced when I showed it to him (the Kimchi, that is), but once I told him 1) it’s just cabbage and 2) it wasn’t ‘cooked’, he was okay with the concept! Cooked cabbage brings back horrible childhood memories for him, so though it’s ‘cooked’ in salt and or vinegar (depending on the producer), it retains its crunch, color and fresh flavor.

    Thanks for watching!

Leave a Reply

