Hello world!

Welcome to The $20 Farmer’s Market Run! 

Here, you’ll find my weekly account of my trips to local farmer’s markets.  I’ll bring just $20 from my usual grocery budget, and add the farm-fresh items to my weekly menus.  The goal of this project is to prove it doesn’t take a huge amount of money to eat healthy, organic produce almost every day!

About OrganiCat

I'm a fresh food fanatic, here to inspire and expand the world's relationship with farmer's market fare!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello world!

  1. vickie paquette says:

    Cat,
    It’s great to see a blog about local foods–(not local for me!) Your approach is thankfully unlike the local produce gorilla’s. It’s more like “it’s not just food, it’s an adventure”! After working with foodies who take the fun out of food, your approach is refreshing! Looking forward to reading the recipes you come up with! Happy shopping, cooking and eating!

    • organicat says:

      I’m glad you’re diggin’ the local concept! I’ve gotten so into it that I can tell the difference between the cilantro from Maggie’s Farm that I get in Santa Monica and the cilantro from Al’s stand at the Valencia market…
      Shopping, cooking and eating are adventurous art forms I truly enjoy. Thanks for watching 🙂

  2. MJ Smith says:

    Hi Cat,
    Is this really you? What a brilliant idea. Loved seeing all the fresh produce, I am an FM’er myself(farmers market going person). Good Luck! A good idea can spread a long way. Look forward to to more…..

    P.S. Miss you guys

  3. organicat says:

    Hey lady!
    Keep watching! It’s only gonna get better! When I get a better camera, you’ll see WAY more of LA’s FM scene.
    After moving into my fabulous new neighborhood, I noticed loads of empty lots. My dream is to fill them with raised beds and plant fruits and veggies, then sell them directly to the locals, on a rotating schedule…just a thought…a yummy one!

    Thanks for watching!
    C@

  4. jadedressler says:

    Hi Cat, Found you on Kate Moller’s blog.

    I am thrilled about your blog, will link to mine. A recent post about a free-form walk around NYC includes the $20. happiness of a stash from a Farmer’s Market right around the corner from me.

    Best of Luck with this blog and all the good that will come of it. I believe in this!

    Thank you! Jade Here’s the post….http://jadedressler.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/summer-roamsreadsflower-girls-gypsies-head-busters-and-beatniks/

  5. organicat says:

    Thank you SOOO much, Jade!

    Your blog gave me a delicious chance reflect on my years in NYC, and made me realize how much I miss it!!

    The Union Square Greenmarket began my Farmer’s Market obsession! Thank you for your link 🙂
    ..and thanks for watching 🙂

Leave a Reply

